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1. Platz WJP 2008
Kostas Prentos
51st WCCC VIII–IX/2008
Sake Tourney
1. Preis�� ��� �� � � �� � � �� � � �� � � �� ! � �� � � �� � � ��
H#3 4.1;1.1;1.1
transmutierende Könige

2. Platz WJP 2008
René J. Millour
Mat Plus VI/2008
8+6 Steine stehen auf dem
Brett. Von diesen haben 9 nie
gezogen, 6 stehen auf
derselben Linie. 1) Wie viele
legale solcher Stellungen gibt
es? 2) Auf wie vielen Feldern
konnte viermal geschlagen
werden? 3) Auf wie vielen
Feldern konnte [Ta8]
geschlagen werden?

Monochromes Marscirce

3. Platz WJP 2008
Yoshikazu Ueda
Problem Paradise
IV–VI/2008� � � �� � ���� � � �� � � �� � � ���� � �� � � �� � � �
H#19
Madrasi rex inclusiv
Platzwechselcirce
Ultraschachzwang

Marscirce: Im Gegensatz zu Circe wird im Marscirce nicht der geschlagene Stein, sondern vielmehr der schlagende Stein
wiedergeboren, und zwarvor dem eigentlichen Schlagfall. Für die Bestimmung des Ursprungsfeldes entscheidet dabei
das Standfeld des Steines vor Wiedergeburt und Schlagen. Die Könige sind in diese Regelung mit eingeschlossen.
Schlagen von anderen Feldern als dem Wiedergeburtsfeld ausist illegal; nur vom Wiedergeburtsfeld aus kann mit
Schach bietender Wirkung gedroht werden.

Monochromes Marscirce: Kombination aus monochromem Schach und Marscirce.

Monochromes Schach:Start- und Zielfeld eines Zuges müssen dieselbe Felderfarbe aufweisen. Das gilt auch bei der Be-
urteilung von Matt und Patt.

Platzwechselcirce:Ein geschlagener Stein wird auf dem Feld wiedergeboren, aufdem der schlagende Stein vor dem Schlag
stand. Bauern auf der eigenen Offiziersgrundreihe können nicht ziehen, schlagen oder Schach bieten. Könige sind nicht
als Schlagobjekte, wohl aber als Schlagende zugelassen.

Transmutierende Könige: Könige, die im Schach stehen, können im nächsten Zug nur wie die Schach bietenden Steine
ziehen. Ein König, der auf der eigenen Grundreihe ein Bauernschach erhält, kann nicht ziehen.

Ultraschachzwang Als Lösungen werden nur solche Zugfolgen anerkannt, bei denen jeder schwarze Zug Schach bietet.

1. Platz (Prentos)
1.Tc1 Te7 2.Ta1+ Kh8 3.Tg1 Th7#
1.Tb3 Th8+ 2.Ka1 Th7 3.Tb1 Ta7#
1.Tc8+ Ka1 2.Tc2 Tb8 3.Th2 Tb1#
1.Tc7 Te1+ 2.Kh8 Tb1 3.Th7 Tb8#

2. Platz (Millour)
(1) 1 und nur 1 Stellung: wKe1, wSb1g1, wBb3c2e3e4f2, sKe8, sSb8g8, sBc7e5e6!
(2) Auf 1 und nur 1 Feld wurde viermal geschlagen, auf a3!
(3) Auf 1 und nur 1 Feld konnte [Ta8] geschlagen werden, auf c4!
Mögliche Beweispartie: 1.d4 e5 2.h4 D×h4 3.e4 De7 4.T×h7 Da3 5.Th3 Th6 6.L×h6 g5 7.L(c1)×g5 d5 8.g4 L×g4 9.a×b3
L(c8)×h3 10.Dh5 Ld7 11.Dh1 La4 12.Dh7 Lb3 13.a×b3 L×a3 14.Lc1 Lb4 15.T×a7 b5 16.Ta3 L(f8)×a3 17.L×b5 Lb4
18.La3 L(f8)×a3 19.Dh1 Lc1 20.Dh7 Le3 21.d(2)×e3 Ta2 22.D(d1)×d5 Ta8 23.Dc4 Ta2 24.Da4 T(a8)×a4 25.Ld7 Tc4
26.L(f1)×c4 f5 27.Le6 f(7)×e6
Ausführliche Lösung:
In Monochrome Marscirce, a P has at most 2 moves. For example [Pg2] can g2-g4, then g(2)×f/h3 and all is done, it cannot
be captured on g2 or f3, only [Bc8] can take it on g4 or h3. The c,e and f Ps can never be captured. The immobile Ss are



in the same case. Therefore, if we add the Ks, 6 white and 6 black pieces are always present in any Monochrome Marscirce
position. Really, these 12 inevitable pieces are in the diagram (wKe1, wSb1g1, wPb3c2e3e4f2, bKe8, bSb8g8, bPc7e5e6),
[Pe2] being at e4, [Pe7] at e5 and [Pf7] at e6. But what are Pb3 and Pe3 doing there? In fact, if Black has only his 6
imperative pieces, White has inevitably 8 pieces. Yes, only[Ra1] can take [Pa7] on a7 or a5, and reciprocally only [Ra8]
can take [Pa2] on a2 or a4. Thus, only one of these Ps can be captured after the other one has moved out of the file. As
[Pa7] is absent, [Pa2] is necessarily on b3 where it cannot becaptured. It is not the same on h, where [Ph2] can be taken
by Q(d8)×h4. But it is the same on d, where only [Qd1] can take [Pd7] on d7or d5 and only [Qd8] can take [Pd2] on d2
or d4. As [Pd7] is absent, [Pd2] is necessarily on c3 or e3 where it cannot be captured. Thus, 14 pieces are inevitable and
no position more economical exists in Monochrome Marscirce. Pe4 cannot be at e2 because B(f1)×[Pb7]b5 must be done.
Similarly, [Pe7] has moved in order to allow B(f8)×[Pb2]b4. Yet, the stipulation asserts 9 pieces have never moved, thus 9
pieces must be on their starting squares, in practice on e1, e8, b1, b8, g1, g8, c2, c7 and f2. 6 pieces are on a same file is
also stipulated, thus d(2)×e3 and not d(2)×c3, e7-e5 and not e7×d/f6, f7×e6 and not f7×g6. If Pf2 is put on c3 [forcing
d(2)×c3 and f2×e3], only 8 units have never moved, and if Pf2 is on c3 and Pe6 onf7, we have at home the required 9 units,
but only 5 pieces on e-file. There is finally only one matching position: the diagram position! As [Ke1] has never moved,
[Pd2] inevitably made the last dark-square capture. This P has moved twice because [Pg7] has to disappear: d2-d4, then
B(c1)×[Pg7]g5, then d4(2)×e3. As [Ke8] has never moved, a P made the last light-square capture, was it [Pa2] or [Pf7]?
Not [Pa2], because in this case [Qd1] and [Pd7] must disappear before a(2)×b3 occurs, it would mean d(2)×e3 already
done. But d(2)×e3 implies a(2)×b3 already done, as [Ra1] and [Pa7] would be in this case already captured. Therefore, after
a(2)×b3 and d(2)×e3, [Pf7] inevitably made the last light-square capture, which is also the very last capture. Black must
immediately uncapture, otherwise White would be retro-stalemated, because the WK has never moved and the Ps cannot
retract on a2 or d2 until R(a1)×[Pa7] or Q(d1)×[Pd7] are taken back. If simply f7×Qe6 is retracted, White cannot uncapture
and Black is potentially retro-stalemated: the BK has nevermoved and Pe4 cannot step back to e7 until B(f8)×[Pb2]b4 is
taken back. Retracting f5(7)×Qe6 Qd5-e6 f7-f5 is not better: the WQ cannot restore [Bc8], which was taken at b3 as [Ra8]
cannot access b3, and the WQ cannot restore [Ra8], which cannot access d-file, the WQ can uncapture [Pd7], but Black is
retro-stalemated as this P cannot even step back to d7 until B(c8)×[Pg2]g4 is taken back. In the retro-sequence f5(7)×Qe6
Qg4-e6 f7-f5 Q(d1)×Rg4 Rg6-g4, the uncapture on g4 would be legal, but Qg4-e6 is impossible as [Pf7] is on f5. Only one
possibility: f5(7)×Be6 Bc4-e6 f7-f5 B(f1)×Rc4 and Black has retro-moves thanks to the R just given back!Only 3 of these
captures g7×h6, B(c1)×[Pg7]h6, B(c1)×[Rh8]h6, B(f8)×[Bc1]h6 could take place, because in fact g7×h6 is illegal, as
[Ra1] cannot access h6. But on a3, and only on a3, 4 captures were possible: b2×[Qd8]a3, B(f8)×[Pb2]a3, B(f8)×[Ra1]a3
and B(f8)×[Bc1]a3. Afterwards d(2)×[Bf8]e3 occured, followed by Q(d1)×[Pd7]d5, Black has R-moves, R(a8)×[Qd1]a4,
B(f1)×[Ra8]c4, f7-f5 sole waiting move!, Bc4-e6, f5(7)×e6. Thus, [Ra8] disappeared on c4, and nowhere else!
Proof-game example: 1.d4 e5 2.h4 Q×h4 3.e4 Qe7 4.R×h7 Qa3 5.Rh3 Rh6 6.B×h6 g5 7.B(c1)×g5 d5 8.g4 B×g4 9.a×b3
B(c8)×h3 10.Qh5 Bd7 11.Qh1 Ba4 12.Qh7 Bb3 13.a×b3 B×a3 14.Bc1 Bb4 15.R×a7 b5 16.Ra3 B(f8)×a3 17.B×b5 Bb4
18.Ba3 B(f8)×a3 19.Qh1 Bc1 20.Qh7 Be3 21.d(2)×e3 Ra2 22.Q(d1)×d5 Ra8 23.Qc4 Ra2 24.Qa4 R(a8)×a4 25.Bd7 Rc4
26.B(f1)×c4 f5 27.Be6 f(7)×e6.
The answers are: (1) 1, and only 1, position! (2) 1, and only 1,4-capture square, a3! (3) 1, and only 1, capture square for
[Ra8], c4!

3. Platz (Ueda)
1.nLc1+ nLh6 2.nLg7+ Tf6 3.nL×f6 [Tg7]+ nLe7 4.nLa3+ nLf8 5.nL×g7 [Tf8]+ nLh6 6.nLc1+ nLg5 7.nLf6+ T×f6
[nLf8] 8.nLa3+ nLe7 9.nL×f6 [Te7]+ nLg5 10.nLc1+ nLf4 11.nLe5+ T×e5 [nLe7] 12.nLa3+ nLd6 13.nL×e5 [Td6]+ nLf4
14.nLc1+ nLe3 15.nLd4+ T×d4 [nLd6] 16.nLa3+ nLc5 17.nL×d4 [Tc5]+ nLe3 18.nLc1+ nLd2 19.nLc3+ T×c3 [nLc5]#


